A universal guide for China studies

Chinese History - Tang Dynasty 唐朝 (618-907)

Encoding: Unicode (UTF-8) [Location: HOME > History > Tang][bottom]

Tang Dynasty

period before (Sui)
next period (Five Dynasties)
The Tang Dynasty (618-907) is the second great dynasty (called Da Tang 大唐 "Great Tang") of Chinese history that was able to unify a vast territory, to spread its culture and to absorb the cultures of surrounding states and peoples. Tang rulers even were of Non-Chinese origin, and merchants Inner Asia dwelled the quarters of the capital Chang'an 長安. Trade stretched to the South East Asian archipelago, and the religion of Buddhism spread to Korea and Japan. But at the same time, Confucianism again rose as a semi-religious instrument of state administration and won over Buddhism as a state doctrine.
The cultural glory of the Tang Dynasty was not wholly represented by her political performance. After the uprise of a military commander named An Lushan 安祿山 and a civil war, the central government lost its grip on the local administration and gave way to warlordism in 907 when China was again divided into north and south and many small shortlived dynasties.
Map and Geography

Event History

Emperors and Rulers

Government and Administration

Literature and Philosophy